Burton upon Trent Albion v Walsall Preview

Who would have thought that this game between these two little clubs would be so important at this stage of the season? Not me, that’s for sure. I predicted nothing but doom and gloom this season and here I am now thinking of getting a season ticket for next season.

Anyway, enough of this nonsense. It should be a preview after all. I know no Burton players except their reserve goalkeeper Stephen Bywater so I am not going to talk about them. I will focus purely on Walsall.

The lack of a decent forward other than Bradshaw (who has clearly been carrying an injury recently) has proved to be our undoing of late. When we went up in 2001 we had Byfield, Leitao, Angell and Goodman at the end of the season (I know we played two up front those days) meaning we could change things round very easily. With only Cook available we don’t have that luxury this time round.

With this in mind, it was a disappointment this week that we had no more forwards come into the squad. However, we did get another midfielder in (Wakefield) who I fully expect to make his debut tomorrow in a three man midfield with Mantom and Chambers – Lalkovic dropping to the bench (or playing up front if Bradshaw doesn’t make it).

O’Connor will come back in to the team as well to give us reassurance and experience at the back and no doubt Henry will squeeze himself into the team too, with Taylor dropping to the bench.

I didn’t think that much of Burton when I saw them last time and as we have an excellent away record I fully expect us to get our season back on track and record a three-nil  victory in front of the travelling hoards of 1800 Walsall fans.

 

Leave a Reply

